Chakra Series Part 7: Sahaswara

June 09, 2020

Chakra Series Part 7: Sahaswara

Hello, beauties!

We’ve made it to the 7th - and final - installment of our chakra series. The Sahaswara, or Crown Chakra as it’s also known, is our source of enlightenment and spiritual connection to everything we can experience in this world. This chakra connects us to our higher selves, to every soul on the planet, as well as the divine energy responsible for creating our beautiful universe.

The lotus flower symbolizes the Sahaswara: this beautiful flower emerges from muddy waters. Both literally and metaphorically the idea of emerging from muddy water represents the cycles of birth within a world that often lacks clarity. Due to the naturally bleak environment in which it grows, the lotus flower appears all the more beautiful. Like the lotus, we too appear more beautiful through the balancing of the crown chakra. 

Just as the lotus flower emerges, so will you when you unlock the seventh chakra. Through the process of gradual awakening, you will shed the confines of the physical body, the ego, mind, and intellect. In many ways, this awakening brightens your aura as you are freed from the trappings of our desire-centered culture. 

Identifying a Blocked Chakra

As the center of your consciousness, a blockage in the crown chakra may manifest as a subtle disconnection from your physical body or a greater disconnection from the world around you. This could be as simple as

Thus, the crown  chakra may present a whole host of interconnected imbalances such as:

  • Lack of Empathy
  • General Apathy
  • Sense of Elitism or Superiority
  • Lack of inspiration
  • Excessive Greed
  • Focus on Materialism

Opening Your Third-Eye Chakra

Yoga may prove to be an important step in an effort to rebalance your crown chakra. Whether you’re a novice or an avid yogi, you will want to focus on inverted and restorative movements. Listed below are a few examples of the specific poses I would suggest when attempting to find greater balance within your crown chakra:

  • Lotus | Padmasana
  • Reclining Bound Angle | Supta Baddha Konasana
  • Supported Headstand | Salamba Sirsasana
  • Tree Pose | Vrksasana

Another major focus in realignment should be meditation, especially as it relates to letting go of the materialistic elements you consciously or unconsciously focus on in life. An essential part of the journey toward opening the seventh chakra is to practice clearing your mind - and environment - of unnecessary noise.

We’re all human, and it’s incredibly important to remember that no matter the cost, the items we purchase will never represent who we are, nor will they fill the voids we may feel within ourselves. Through the intentional practice of silent meditation, you may find yourself released from the grip of our consumer-driven culture, and thus in greater alignment with the crown chakra.

One final suggestion is to spend time in nature. As with many of the chakras, intentionally communing with the flora and fauna around us can help to bring a sense of inner peace and calm which is conducive to restoring balance. Specific to the crown chakra, it may be a good idea to find a natural overlook - something that will help to remind you of the expansive beauty of which we are all a part. 

Next Steps

If you haven’t already, feel free to read any of the previous chakra articles. In the coming days, I’ll be writing up a few complementary pieces to help clarify additional ways in which you might find greater balance in life - through an understanding of your chakras. Additionally, you’re always welcome to join our weekly live yoga sessions on Instagram! 



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Also in Love, Natalie

Acne 101: Do You Know Your Type?
Understanding Acne: Do you know your type?

September 23, 2020

We all know that knowledge is power, so I wanted to take a moment to outline exactly what each type of acne looks like. Hopefully this will help you to identify what your specific struggles are, what they stem from, and how you can take some positive steps to a clearer complexion. 

Continue Reading

Skin Health 101: Prevention & Treatment for Hyperpigmentation
Skin Health 101: Prevention & Treatment for Hyperpigmentation

September 15, 2020

It’s that time of year again: pumpkin lattes, sweaters, falling leaves, and falling temperatures! With all of that comes another unfortunate reality - our summer tans will be fading and the damage it sometimes brings with it will be all that remains. 

With that in mind, I wanted to talk a little bit about skin discoloration - or hyperpigmentation - and what you can do to prevent it, treat it, and otherwise keep your skin looking as glorious in October as it did in July. 

Continue Reading

5 Ways to Knock Out Psoriasis
5 Ways to Knock Out Psoriasis

August 24, 2020

As many of you know - some, acutely - August is National Psoriasis Awareness Month. With just a few days remaining until September, I wanted to throw out a quick blog post addressing the realities of psoriasis, for those who don’t know, as well as some practical treatments and recommendations for those who suffer from it.

Continue Reading

Liquid error: Could not find asset snippets/carro.liquid